The Five Love Languages

The Five Love Languages

Have you heard about the five love languages? They were created by relationship expert Gary Chapman, and learning about them could improve your future relationships. This is because learning the five love languages will teach you more about yourself and how you love others, and it will also make it easier to understand your partner’s behavior.

Do you want a better love life? If so, here are the five love languages.


The Five Love Languages

The First Love Language: Words of Affirmation

The first love language is words of affirmation, and this refers to positive communication. This can includes asking caring questions, complimenting your partner, telling your partner that you love them and reassuring them. If your partner is very verbally affectionate with you, try to return the communication as it is likely that it means a lot to them.


The Second Love Language: Physical Touch

Physical touch is another love language. This refers to physical intimacy, which can range from holding hands to cuddling to sex. However it is important to be aware that this isn’t all about sex; it is more about feeling very comfortable with each other’s bodies.

If your partner seems to prioritize physical touch, try to incorporate more intimacy into your daily life. From taking a shower together to giving them a back massage, there are lots of ways to show your love through physical touch.


The Third Love Language: Receiving Gifts

Another love language is receiving gifts. This may seem a little materialistic, but it is actually a bit deeper than that. It is more about giving thoughtful gifts that are well thought out; for instance, it could be as simple as buying your crush their favorite snack.

If you have a partner who often buys you little gifts you may want to consider returning the favor. You could treat them to a take-away after a long day, or you could buy them a new tube of toothpaste if you notice theirs is running out. You don’t have to spend a lot of money, as it is more about the thought than the actual gift.


The Fourth Love Language: Acts of Service

Acts of service is another love language. This is about showing your partner that you love them with gestures, rather than words or gifts. For instance you could tidy their house if it is a mess, or you could cook them a meal if they have had a long day. It could even be as simple as letting them choose what channel to watch on TV!


The Fifth Love Language: Quality Time

The final love language is quality time. This one is pretty obvious; it refers to people who express their love by spending time with their partner. This is particularly important for couples who are very busy; those few moments spent alone together are very meaningful.

If you are dating someone who seems to prioritize quality time, try to make sure that you put aside time every week to make your partner feel valued and loved. Even if you are very busy, try to set time aside for a quick coffee date; this will make your partner very happy, and it will show them that you really care for them.

(Visited 135 times, 1 visits today)
Amy Johnson
Written by Amy Johnson